American College of Dentists Foundation

The American College of Dentists Foundation is a nonprofit, charitable 501(c)3 public foundation supporting educational and programmatic efforts of the American College of Dentists and collaborating organizations. The Foundation was established in 1972 to raise tax-deductible support for educational, literary, and scientific initiatives to advance oral health and the dental profession. The majority of the funding for the Foundation is provided by annual donations from Fellows, their family and colleagues, and other friends of the College. For decades, Foundation funds have supported initiatives of the College, including thought-provoking speakers and educators at the Annual Meeting, continuing education, educational materials for dental students, scholarships for advanced studies in ethics, and other impactful projects.

Dr. Patricia L. Blanton
Dr. Patricia L. BlantonConsultant to the American College of Dentists Foundation Board
Dr. Patricia L. Blanton has established a reputation as a disciplined educator, researcher, administrator, clinician-scholar and community advocate. She is a nationally and internationally recognized expert in the fields of surgical anatomy, local anesthesia and pain management. Over the past forty plus years, Pat has lectured extensively and she has provided more than one thousand hours of continuing education on these topics. As a leading authority in surgical anatomy, she has published more than one hundred peer-reviewed publications, numerous book chapters, and one textbook. Dr. Blanton has regularly published her research findings and she has been awarded research grants from a variety of well-recognized entities to include: NIH, NIDCR, and multiple, interdisciplinary intramural funding initiatives. Informed by her extensive background in anatomy and neuroanatomy, her approach to the local anesthetic technique stresses the interrelationships between surgical anatomy, pharmacology and technique discipline in the acquisition of profound anesthesia. Dr. Blanton is a Professor Emeritus of the Department of Biomedical Sciences, Baylor College of Dentistry/TAMUS and the former interim Dean of the James B. Edwards College of Dental Medicine.

She has been the recipient of numerous awards and honors over the course of her illustrious and storied career including the 2017 American Dental Association’s Distinguished Service Award and the 2017 Industry Icon Award- the American Association of Women Dentists. She is a member of the Hall of Fame, Baylor College of Dentistry/TAMHUS and the recipient of the Gold Medal for Distinguished Service from the Texas Dental Association. She is also the recipient of the coveted William John Gies Award from the American College of Dentists. Pat has served with distinction at essentially every level of leadership including: Former First Vice President, American Dental Association; Past President of the American College of Dentists; Past President, Dallas County Dental Society; Past President, Texas Dental Association; Past President, Texas Society of Periodontists and Past President, Southwest Society of Periodontists.

Dr. Jerome B. Miller
Dr. Jerome B. MillerConsultant to the American College of Dentists Foundation Board
Dr. Jerome B. “Jerry” Miller is widely known for his extraordinary record of accountable leadership in dentistry and his community at large. His history of philanthropy and support of worthy causes in dentistry is unparalleled. Dr. Miller has led at every level of his professional life and has devoted considerable time and personal resources in perfecting his leadership style. He is a Past President of the College of Diplomates, American Board of Pediatric Dentistry, the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry Foundation, the Southwest Society of Pediatric Dentistry, the Oklahoma Dental Association, the American College of Dentists, and the American College of Dentists Foundation. Dr. Miller invested twenty-eight years of his professional life as a Trustee for the Oklahoma Dental Association and is a five-time Board of Governors Dental Specialty Board Examiner. For eight consecutive years, he served with distinction as a Trustee for the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry. For twenty years, he served with distinction as a delegate to the American Dental Association. Jerry has made over seventy-five presentations (lectures, clinics, and table clinics) to various dental meetings and educational groups throughout the United States and has been the principal author of over forty-five articles in dental journals or related publications on a variety of topics.

Dr. Miller is the recipient of numerous honors and awards, including the Distinguished Service Award and Dentist of the Year from the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry and Dentist of the Year from the Oklahoma Dental Association. In 2015, he was uniquely honored by Healthy Smiles, Healthy Children, the Foundation of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry with the opening of the Jerome B. Miller Center for Philanthropy and Leadership. In 2017, Dr. Miller received the American College of Dentists’ highest honor – the William John Gies Award – for his sustained contributions to our profession.