Dr. Richard F. Stilwill, Okemos, Michigan
Dr. Richard F. Stilwill, Okemos, MichiganPresident
Dick Stilwill is a general dentist who has served as President, Central District Dental Society; Delegate to the MDA House of Delegates; Chair, Board of Directors, Delta Dental Plan of Michigan; and member, Board of Directors, Delta Dental Fund. Dr. Stilwill currently serves on the Delta Dental of Michigan, Ohio and Indiana Corporate Board. He is a Past Chair of the Michigan Section of the ACD and past Regent of Regency 4. Dr. Stilwill is completing his term as ACD President. He personally started and coordinated an ACD-sponsored ethics class at the University of Michigan. Dr. Stilwill has been actively involved in his community, including a member of the Board of Directors, Chief Okemos Council of the Boy Scouts of America, along with other offices.
Dr. Thomas J. Connolly, New York, New York
Dr. Thomas J. Connolly, New York, New YorkPresident-elect
Tom Connolly is a practicing periodontist. Dr. Connolly is Past President of the New York Academy of Dentistry and the New York Academy of Dentistry Endowment Fund. He was Chair, Capital Campaign, Columbia‘s College of Dental Medicine and he serves as a mentor, ethics facilitator, and Assistant Clinical Professor. Dr. Connolly has also served on the Executive Steering Committee of Columbia University. Dr. Connolly was instrumental in bringing Donated Dental Services to New York. He is a Past Chair, ACD New York Section and Regent, Regency 1. He is finishing his term as ACD Vice President. Dr. Connolly is the recipient of numerous honors and awards, including the Distinguished Alumnus Award, Department of Periodontics, Columbia College of Dental Medicine.
Dr. Stephen A. Ralls, McLean, Virginia
Dr. Stephen A. Ralls, McLean, VirginiaVice President
Steve Ralls received DDS and EdD degrees from the University of Southern California and an MSD degree from Indiana University. He has been recognized as a Diplomate by the American Board of Periodontology (inactive). He is also a retired Captain, Dental Corps, U.S. Navy, last serving as the Commanding Officer of the Naval Dental Research Institute. He is the recipient of multiple military awards including the Legion of Merit. He was also the first captain to receive the surface warfare designation for medical department officers. Dr. Ralls has authored or co-authored over 50 articles and abstracts, given numerous professional presentations, and he has received five patents for his research.
Dr. Joseph F. Hagenbruch, Harvard, Illinois
Dr. Joseph F. Hagenbruch, Harvard, IllinoisTreasurer
Dr. Bert W. Oettmeier, Jr., Stilwell, Kansas
Dr. Bert W. Oettmeier, Jr., Stilwell, KansasImmediate Past President, ACD Foundation President
Dr. Bert Oettmeier is a well-known and highly respected career general dentist in private practice in Kansas. Recently, he has transitioned to part-time private practice to devote more time to his family and friends. Currently, he serves as the President of the American College of Dentists’ Foundation. In 2015, he received the University of Missouri, Kansas City Alumni Achievement Award from the School of Dentistry. Bert has been the recipient of numerous honors throughout his long and distinguished career. His honors include: the Kansas Dental Association Harry M. Klenda Award for Outstanding Service; the Fifth District Dentist of the Year; the Kansas Dental Association Kansas Dentist of the Year; the Fifth District Dental Society Dentist of the Year as well as the Fifth District Dental Society Chairperson of the Year. Dr. Oettmeier was elected to serve at the local, state, and national levels and more recently, he served as the President of the American College of Dentists.
Dr. David W. Chambers, Sonoma, California
Dr. David W. Chambers, Sonoma, CaliforniaEditor
Dr. Theresa S. Gonzales
Dr. Theresa S. GonzalesExecutive Director
After nearly 30 years of distinguished service, Theresa Gonzales retired from the United States Army in 2013 with the rank of Colonel. Most recently, she was a nominative selection as the Director of Strategic Communications for the Army Surgeon General. She has commanded formations in Europe and the United States. Prior to her successive command selections, she served as Director of Orofacial Pain Management and a Staff Oral and Maxillofacial Pathologist at Tripler Army Medical Center in Honolulu, Hawaii. Dr. Gonzales graduated with distinction from the College of Charleston and she received her DMD from the Medical University of South Carolina. She began her military career at Fort Jackson, South Carolina as a resident in the Advanced Education in General Dentistry program. Subsequently, she completed a residency training program in oral and maxillofacial pathology in 1992 at the National Naval Medical Center in Bethesda. In 2006, she completed a two-year fellowship in Orofacial Pain at the Naval Postgraduate Dental School and completed a Master of Science in Health Care from George Washington University in Washington, D.C. Theresa has published for than fifty articles in peer-reviewed journals and she presented more than one thousand hours of continuing education lectures both nationally and internationally.
President-elect and Vice President are elected each year, and the Treasurer is elected biennially. Please contact the Executive Office for more information regarding the ACD election process. 301-977-3223 or office@acd.org.