The American College of Dentists Awards Program recognizes special efforts and contributions of Fellows and other individuals in areas linked to the ACD mission, which is advancing “excellence, ethics, professionalism, and leadership in dentistry.” Most awards are conferred at the ACD Annual Meeting and Convocation in the fall of each year.

Nominations for National Awards, including Honorary Fellowship, are due by February 1st of each year. Nominations received after that date will be deferred for review the following year.

Please contact the Executive Office for more information.

View recent recipients of national awards

William John Gies Award—recognizes Fellows for broad, exceptional, and distinguished contributions to the profession and society.

Outstanding Service Award—recognizes Fellows for specific, outstanding service to dentistry, the community, or humanity.

Honorary Fellowship—is a means to bestow the honor of Fellowship on deserving non-dentists who exhibit levels of leadership on par with Fellows.

Lifetime Achievement Award—recognizes Fellows for 50 years of Fellowship in the College (nominations are not required, awarded automatically).

Section Achievement Award—recognizes Sections for outstanding activities related to the mission and strategic directions of the College.

Section Newsletter Award—recognizes Sections for publishing outstanding newsletters.

Outstanding Student Leader Award—recognizes senior dental students for demonstrated leadership and outstanding scholastic performance. Granted throughout the year upon requests from Sections.

Board-nominated Awards

Nominations for two awards are by the Board of Regents, however any Fellow may submit names and supporting information to the Board for consideration:

Distinguished Leadership Award—recognizes individuals having a record of significant and distinguished leadership in dentistry, public health, or national health policy while in a position of national or international responsibility.

Ethics and Professionalism Award—recognizes exceptional contributions of individuals or organizations in the promotion of ethics or professionalism in dentistry. This award is made possible by a gift from The Jerome B. Miller Family Foundation.